Discovering tomorrow

InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station


InnoVenton Head
Prof Ben Zeelie
Prof Ben Zeelie
Position: Professor in Chemistry
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3281
Fax: 27 41 504 3422
Email: ben.zeelie@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Catalytic Oxidations, Process Optimisation, Industrial Chemistry

Administrative staff
Sbalkisoon
Mrs Samantha Balkisoon
Position: Secretary/Receptionist/Admin Assistant
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: InnoVenton Reception
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 0415043281
Email: Samantha.Balkisoon@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Diploma - Executive Secretary
Expertise: Executive Secretary
Responsibilities: Secretarial, Administrative, Reception

InnoVenton Staff
Hope Baloyi
Mr. Hope Baloyi
Position: Research Associate
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 041 504 3497
Email: hope.baloyi@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Engineering Sciences (Chemical)

Mr Coos Bosma
Mr Coos Bosma
Position: Statistical Consultant and Analyst
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 9902
Fax: 27 41 504 3422
Email: coos.bosma@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Ms Margriet Bosma
Ms Margriet Bosma
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: A101A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3613 / 3281
Fax: 27 41 504 9613
Email: margriet.bosma@nmmu.ac.za

Ms Nomathamsanqa Dokwana
Ms Nomathamsanqa Dokwana
Position: Scientist
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: 1-11 Gomery avenue
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 041-5049103
Fax: 041-5049667
Email: Nomathamsanqa.Dokwana@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech Chemistry
Responsibilities: Water testing

Dr Gary Dugmore
Dr Gary Dugmore
Position: Deputy Director: InnoVenton
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3465
Email: gary.dugmore@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: DTech

Dr Melissa Gouws
Dr Melissa Gouws
Position: Operations and Technology Station
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: InnoVenton Analytical in Gomery Avenue Summerstrand
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 041 504 3281
Email: Melissa.Gouws@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: D Tech (Chemistry) NMMU
Expertise: Analytical Chemist and Laboratory and Operations System Manager
Responsibilities: InnoVenton Operations and Technology Station Management

Dr Shawn Gouws
Dr Shawn Gouws
Position: Programme Coordinator: Diploma Chemical Process Technology
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: C13
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 415043178
Fax: 27 415041593
Email: Shawn.Gouws@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: DTech (Chemistry) (P E Technikon)
Expertise: Process Chemistry, Electro-Organic Synthesis, Microwave Technologies, Electrochemical Micro-structure Reactors, Calorimetry

LHamilton
Mrs Louise Hamilton
Position: Technical Manager
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: 101
Location: Off-campus
Phone: 041-5043245
Email: louise.hamilton@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: ND Analytical Chemistry
Expertise: GC-MS, XRF, IC

Derek Hislop
Mr. Derek Hislop
Position: Instrument Technician
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Off-campus
Phone: +27 799798479
Email: Derek.Hislop@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: ND Electrical Engineering
Responsibilities: Laboratory Equipment

Carlak
Dr Carla Kampman
Position: Research Associate
Department: Chemistry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Email: carla.kampman@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD Chemistry
Expertise: Microalgae cultivation, Protein extraction from microalgae
Responsibilities: Research, teaching and learning, daily monitoring and operation of microalgae production facility
My site: Innoventon, Gomery avenue

Mr Otto Lessing
Mr Otto Lessing
Position: Project manager: Algae to Bio-energy
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +2741 504 3953
Email: Otto.Lessing@nmmu.ac.za

nmatebese
Ms Nwabisa Matebese
Position: Junior Scientist
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: 1-11 Gommerry
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 0415043493
Email: matebesenwabisa@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Bachelor of Science degree and Postgraduate Certificate in Education
Responsibilities: Grow and Monitor Algae. Analysis of Raw Materials

Ms Mildred Mpalala
Ms Mildred Mpalala
Position: General assistant
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +2741 504 3493
Email: Mildred.Mpalala@nmmu.ac.za

Nozuko Mtwa
Mrs Nozuko Mtwa
Position: Senior Analyst/Scientist
Department: Chemistry
Room: InnoVenton
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 41 504 3493
Email: Nozuko.Mtwa@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech: Chemistry
Responsibilities: Automotive Analysis

Mr Josef Plaatjies
Mr Josef Plaatjies
Position: Technical assistant
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Email: Josef.Plaatjies@nmmu.ac.za

Nadine Raepsaet
Mrs Nadine Raepsaet
Position: Analyst
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: C011
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 041 504 3174
Email: nadine.raepsaet@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: N.Dip Biomedical Technology
Responsibilities: Microbiology and Chemical Labs

Mrs Cecilia Saunders
Mrs Cecilia Saunders
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3497
Fax: 27 41 504 9497
Email: Cecilia.Saunders@nmmu.ac.za
Expertise: Industrial Chemical Analyses

Shaka SHABANGU
Dr Shaka SHABANGU
Position: Senior Chemical Engineer
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Email: Shaka.Shabangu@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MEng, PhD, AMIChemE
Expertise: Chemical Engineering, Combustion, Gasification, Pyrolysis

Brian Keith Tait
Mr Brian Tait
Position: Strategy & Operations Executive
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 0829209382
Email: brian.tait@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc MBA
Expertise: Management
Responsibilities: Business Operations

Mr Philip van Zyl
Mr Philip van Zyl
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +2741 504 3281
Email: Philip.vanZyl@nmmu.ac.za

Dr Nicole Vorster
Dr Nicole Vorster
Position: Senior lecturer and Formulation Science coordinator
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: A101B
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3599
Fax: 27 41 504 3422
Email: nicole.vorster@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (UPE)
Expertise: Formulation, product development
Responsibilities: Lecturing/research
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/NicoleVorster/

Paul Watts
Prof Paul Watts
Position: Research Chair in Microfluidic Bio/Chemical Processing
Department: InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station
Room: A201A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +27 41 504 3694
Fax: +27 41 504 9281
Email: Paul.Watts@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc, PhD, CSci, CChem, FRSC